God’s Town: Day 2

Day 2 in Tirupati was hectic. I was busy in the Sri Venkateshwara University campus the entire day working on my reports.

Working in a typically touristy place is strange because instead of behaving like tourist you have get on with life the way the average Tirupat-ian does. That means getting up at 6.30 a.m. to the sounds of bhajans. And then getting ready by 9.00 a.m. for work – gimme a break!… these are things I do in Bombay. See, things are not always rosy for travel writers.

Had a good day at work though. I could finish a significant amount of work. I am leaving Tirupati within 2 days instead of the 4, I was initially supposed to spend here. Dr. R, my survey advisor, was kind enough to give me the permission. What’s more he keeps giving me a tour of Tirupati whenever there is a chance.

Saw the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan’s School in Tirupati – Woah! The school is at the foothills of the Tirumala range. It is really stuning to see the sports grounds against that backdrop… Would love to play cricket there!

Tirupati is actually like any other small town except for the devotional chant that keeps playing contionously on loudspeaker at every traffic signal. ‘Venkateswara’ and ‘Tirumala’ are the clear favourites when it comes to naming the average Tirupati shop.

The bus-stand is chaotic, so are most of the roads. But with a motor bike and a certain disregard for rules that Dr. R displayed one can easily get by. But the best moment of the day — watching the statue of M.S. Subbalakshmi. Suprabhatam, Bhaja Govindam, and a bhajan dedicated to Hanuman (damn! I can’t remember the name) are my favourites to this day. 

Will try to click a picture tomorrow. For now, it is Shubh Ratri.     

Leave a Reply

