Bengaluru – Sakkat Traffic

“When is the volvo to Bangalore?”
“2 o’clock saar”
“How much time will it take?”
“5 hours to reach the outskirts… further than that depends on your luck saar”

I had been warned… someone in Tirupati in fact told me to cathc a bus which either reaches around midnight or early in the morning. I laughed it off, but when you hear a transport corporation’s representative giving such an estimate… it is something to get worried about.

The Karnatka State Road Transport Corporation volvo (Rs. 325) started from Tirupati at 2:00 p.m. sharp (i.e. 2:30 p.m. according to “IST”). The road to Bangalore was smooth and the kilometers slipped by easily. 7:00 p.m. – the bus was 30 km away from Bangalore – a lucky day, perhaps! Well, at Hoskote I had hit the first JAM. It took around half n hour to get through that one. And wham! another JAM at Krishnarajpuram. I ultimately reached my home at 9:30 p.m.

Now, let’s put that in perspective – 210 km in 4.5 hrs, 30km in 2.5 hrs!

Now lets compare the timings with my hometown, Mumbai. I decided to ask my friend who travels by car everyday to his factory which is at the outskirts of the city. To give you guys a bit of background info – there are 3 main roads to enter Mumbai – the Western Express highway, Eastern Express Highway, and the Mumbai-Goa/Poona Highway (Note: there is nothing express about any of the two highways mentioned here).

Instead of taking a 30 km limit, I felt it would be more practical to measure the time taken from the outskirts of the city – that’s where the traffic really starts. So I asked my friend how much time it will take from Virar on WE Highway, Thane on EE Highway, and Panvel on the Goa/Poona highway. My friend informed me that at peak hours, it would take around 2 hrs from Virar, around 1.5 hours from Thane, and 1 hour from Panvel to reach the approx mid-point of the city – Sion/Bandra.

Of course, in Mumbai the trouble is not traveling in the North-South direction… traveling from East to West and vice versa is a nightmare. But that will require another post altogether.

Leave a Reply

